Longest contigs are not assigned a taxonomy

Hi,
I am new to megan and am trying to process blastn -task megablast results of 43 draft quality contigs ranging in size from 369 bases to 235 kilobases with the blast2lca tool. In the output, contigs <45k were assigned to a taxonomy by the algorithm while contigs >70k were not even though they had an abundance of hits. What might be the best way to get taxonomy assignments for these longer contigs? I am hesitant to use the long read algorithm since I don’t need or want a lot of open reading frame corrections and I don’t think it works with a blastn output… also, I’m not sure if this algorithm is in a stand alone tool. I was able to get two more contigs of size 73.6k and 99.8k assigned to taxonomy by filtering my blast results with -qcov_hsp_perc 1. I have tried other limiters such as -num_descriptions 100 (no effect) -num_alignments 50 (no effect) -max_hsps 5 (no effect) -culling_limit 1 (segmentation fault error). I also plan to try -word_size 40 and -evalue 0.00001 as well as tinkering with blast2lca options -ms, -me, and -top. But I’m flying blind since I don’t know why these longer contigs aren’t being assigned. Any help (both theoretical and practical) is appreciated :slight_smile:

Hello,