Java error when using daa-meganizer

Hi,

I’m new to MEGAN and I’m interested in the taxonomic analysis at the moment. I used DIAMOND to align my reads but I have a problem with daa-meganizer. Here is the error message I get:

java.lang.NullPointerException
at java.lang.System.arraycopy(Native Method)
at java.io.BufferedOutputStream.write(BufferedOutputStream.java:128)
at megan.daa.io.DAAModifier.appendBlocks(DAAModifier.java:137)
at megan.daa.io.DAAModifier.appendBlocks(DAAModifier.java:155)
at megan.daa.DAAReferencesAnnotator.apply(DAAReferencesAnnotator.java:150)
at megan.daa.Meganize.apply(Meganize.java:66)
at megan.tools.DAAMeganizer.run(DAAMeganizer.java:216)
at megan.tools.DAAMeganizer.main(DAAMeganizer.java:54)

Before using daa-meganiser, I use DIAMOND to align my reads against the NR database. Here is the command I used:

diamond blastx --threads 8 --db nr.fasta --out output.daa --outfmt 100 --verbose --query input.fastq

And here is the daa-meganizer command I tried to launch next:

input=“-i 1M_R1.daa”
output=“-o 1M_R1.output”
options=“-v --parseTaxonNames false”
tax=“-a2t /home/ec2-user/tools/softwares/megan-6.7.15/mapping_files/prot_acc2tax-Nov2016.abin”

daa-meganizer $input $options $tax

Did I do something wrong ?

And last question, will the output files generated by daa-meganizer be readable ?

Thank you for your help!

Best,
Thibaut

Hi,
you need to build the diamond index first:

diamond makedb --in nr.faa -d nr

that you later provide to the diamond run:

diamond blasts -d nr -q reads.fna -o matches.m8

hope it helps,

Ania

Hi Ania,

Unfortunately no because the problem does not come from DIAMOND but from the daa-meganiser command.

input=“-i reads.daa”
output=“-o reads.output”
tax=“-a2t prot_acc2tax-Nov2016.abin”

Here is the complete verbose output:

AAMeganizer - Prepares (‘meganizes’) a DIAMOND .daa file for use with MEGAN
Options:
Files
–in: reads.daa
Reads
–paired: false
–pairedSuffixLength: 0
Parameters
–longReads: false
–classify: true